y Department of Philosophy :: Faculty
Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Department of Philosophy
Faculty
Home > People > Faculty


Office

Name

Position

Office

Email

Matthew W. McKeon

Chair

503 SKH

mckeonm@msu.edu

Lisa H. Schwartzman

Associate Chair & Director of the Graduate Program

500 SKH

lhschwar@msu.edu

Debra Nails

Undergraduate Program Director

501 SKH

nails@msu.edu

 

Faculty

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

Robyn Bluhm

 Associate Professor

 537 SKH

 rbluhm@msu.edu

Philosophy of Neuroscience
Philosophy of Medicine

Kristie Dotson

Associate Professor

514 SKH

dotsonk@msu.edu

Epistemology
Feminist Philosophy
Philosophy & Race 
Africana Philosophy

Stephen L. Esquith

Professor &
Dean of RCAH

C210G SNY

esquith@msu.edu

Philosophy of Law
Moral & Political Philosophy

Matt Ferkany

Assistant Professor

332 Erickson

ferkany@msu.edu

Ethics
Environmental Ethics
Moral Education

Leonard Fleck

Professor

C202 E Fee

fleck@msu.edu

Philosophy & Ethics of Health Care
Health Policy

Fred Gifford

Professor

500 SKH

gifford@msu.edu

Philosophy of Science
Philosophy & Ethics of Health Care Ethics & Development

David Godden

 Assistant Professor

515 SKH

dgodden@msu.edu

Argumentation Theory
Epistemology
History & Philosophy of Logic

Todd Hedrick

Associate Professor

519 SKH

hedrickt@msu.edu

Social & Political Philosophy
Critical Theory
Philosophy of Law

Hilde Lindemann

Professor

516 SKH

hlinde@msu.edu

Feminist Philosophy 
Bioethics
Moral Psychology

Chris Long

Professor & Dean of the College of Arts and Letters

320 Linton Hall

cplong@msu.edu

Ancient Greek Contemporary Continental Philosophy

Christian Lotz

Professor

518 SKH

lotz@msu.edu

Continental Philosophy
Aesthetics
Marxism
Critical Theory

John McClendon

Professor

511 SKH

mcclen21@msu.edu

History of Philosophy 
Philosophy & Race
Social & Political Philosophy

Matthew W. McKeon

Associate Professor

509 SKH

mckeonm@msu.edu

Epistemology
Logic & Philosophy of Language
Metaphysics 
Philosophy of Mathematics

Debra Nails

Professor

501 SKH

nails@msu.edu

Metaphysics
Ancient Greek Philosophy
Early Modern Philosophy 

Jamie Lindemann Nelson

Professor

512 SKH

jlnelson@msu.edu

Ethics 
Philosophy & Ethics of Health Care

Michael O'Rourke

Professor

503 SKH

orourk51@msu.edu

Environmental Philosophy
Philosophy of Language Epistemology
Philosophy of Action 
Interdisciplinary Theory

Frederick Rauscher

Professor

513 SKH

rauscher@msu.edu

Kant, German Idealism, Early Modern, Ethics, Political Philosophy

James E. Roper

Associate Professor

510 SKH

roper@msu.edu

Philosophy of Science
Social & Political Philosophy
Business Ethics

Lisa H. Schwartzman

Associate Professor

517 SKH

lhschwar@msu.edu

Ethics
Feminist Philosophy
Social & Political Philosophy

Paul B. Thompson

Professor & Kellogg Chair in Agricultural, Food & Community Ethics

526 SKH

thomp649@msu.edu

Agricultural Ethics 
Environmental Philosophy
Philosophy of Technology 
Continental Philosophy

Tom Tomlinson

Professor

C223 E FEE

tomlins4@msu.edu

Ethics 
Philosophy & Ethics of Health Care

Sean Valles

Assistant Professor

E35 EHLM

valles@msu.edu

Philosophy of Medicine
Philosophy of Biology

Kyle Powys Whyte

Associate Professor & Timnick Chair in the Humanities

535 SKH

kwhyte@msu.edu

Environmental Justice
Climate Justice
American Indian Philosophy

 

Affiliated Faculty

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

Kevin Elliot

Associate Professsor 31West Holmes kce@msu.edu

Philosophy of Science
Environmental Ethics
Research Ethics
Philosophy of Environmental Science

Ann Mongoven

Assistant Professor

C-714 Wells Hall

mongove2@msu.edu

Public Health Ethics
Health Care Justice
Democratic Deliberation on Bioethical Issues

Robert T. Pennock

Professor

W-35 Holmes

pennock5@msu.edu

Philosophy of Science
Philosophy of Biology
Cognitive Science
Science & Ethics

Benjamin Pollock

Associate Professor

C727 Wells

polloc18@msu.edu

Modern Jewish Philosophy
Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Continental Thought
Philosophy of Religion

Gretel A. Van Wieren Assistant Professor

C736 Wells

vanwie12@msu.edu

Environmental Ethics
Religion and Nature
Ecological Restoration
Children and Nature
Food Ethics

 

Post-doctoral Fellow

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

Brian Robinson

 

Stephanie E Vasko 

Research Associate

 

Post-doctoral Fellow 

520 SKH

 

520 SKH 

robi1015@msu.edu

 

vaskoste@msu.edu

Ethics
Philosophy of Language
Philosophy of Science

Department of Philosophy and AgBio Research

 

Visiting Faculty

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

John Grey

Visiting Professor

536 SKH

greyjohn@msu.edu

Early Modern Philosophy
Metaphysics & Epistemology

Sandra Harding

Distinguished Affiliate Professor

 

sharding@gseis.ucla.edu

Feminist Theory
Postcolonial Theory Epistemology
Philosophy of Science
Research Methodology

Emily Katz

Visiting Professor

520 SKH

ekatz@msu.edu

Ancient Philosophy

 

Instructors

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

James Lambert

Instructor

506 SKH

lamber53@msu.edu

Social & Political Philosophy

 

Office Staff

Name

Email

Office

Joy Franks

Administrative Assistant

franksj@msu.edu

504A SKH OFC # 355-4492 Fax # 432-1320

Patricia Miller

Graduate Secretary

sudorows@msu.edu

503 SKH OFC # 355-4490 Fax # 432-1320

Julie Eckinger

 

jeckinger@msu.edu

CARRS 131 Natural Resources OFC # 432-0317 Fax # 353-8994

 

Emeriti

Name

Email

Judith Andre

andre@msu.edu

Peter Asquith

asquith@msu.edu

Al Cafagna

cafagna@msu.edu

Marilyn Frye

fryem@msu.edu

Richard Hall

hallrj@msu.edu

Joseph Hanna

hanna@msu.edu

Donald Koch

koch@msu.edu

Rhoda Kotzin

kotzin@msu.edu

Charles McCracken

mccrack2@msu.edu

Bruce Miller

blmiller@msu.edu

Ronald Suter

suteron@msu.edu

Hal Walsh

 

Barbara Abbott

abbottb@msu.edu

Martin Benjamin

benjamin@msu.edu

Richard Peterson

petrsnrt@msu.edu