Skip to Navigation Skip to Content
College of Arts and Letters | Michigan State University

OfficeFaculty |  Instructors | Visiting Faculty Office Staff | Emeriti

 

OFFICE

Name

Position

Office

Email

Matthew W. McKeon

Chair

503 SKH      

mckeonm@msu.edu

Lisa H. Schwartzman

Associate Chair & Director of the Graduate Program

500 SKH

lhschwar@msu.edu

Debra Nails

Undergraduate Program Director

501 SKH

nails@msu.edu

Faculty

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

Kristie Dotson

Assistant Professor

514 SKH

Epistemology 
Feminist Philosophy
Philosophy & Race 
Africana Philosophy

Stephen L. Esquith

Professor 
Dean of RCAH

C210G SNY

Philosophy of Law 
Moral & Political Philosophy

Leonard Fleck

Professor

C202 E Fee

Philosophy & Ethics of Health Care 
Health Policy

Tamra Frei

Assistant Professor

519 SKH

Early Modern Philosophy 
History of Ethics
Kantian Ethics
Metaethics

Fred Gifford

Professor 

500 SKH

Philosophy of Science 
Philosophy & Ethics of Health Care Ethics & Development

Todd Hedrick

Assistant Professor

519 SKH

Social & Political Philosophy
Critical Theory
Philosophy of Law

Hilde Lindemann

Professor

516 SKH

Feminist Philosophy 
Bioethics
Moral Psychology

Christian Lotz

Associate Professor

513 SKH

Continental Philosophy 
Aesthetics/Culture
German Idealism 
Marxism

John McClendon

Professor

511 SKH

History of Philosophy 
Philosophy & Race
Social & Political Philosophy

Matthew W. McKeon

Associate Professor

509 SKH

Epistemology 
Logic & Philosophy of Language
Metaphysics 
Philosophy of Mathematics

Debra Nails

Professor

518 SKH

nails@msu.edu

Metaphysics 
Ancient Greek Philosophy
Early Modern Philosophy 

James Lindemann Nelson

Professor

 

512 SKH

jlnelson@msu.edu

Ethics 
Philosophy & Ethics of Health Care

Michael O'Rourke

Professor

503 SKH

orourk51@msu.edu

Environmental Philosophy
Philosophy of Language Epistemology            
Philosophy of Action
Interdisciplinary Theory

Richard Peterson

Professor

503 SKH

Continental Philosophy 
Ethics
Philosophy & Race 
Social & Political Philosophy
Peace & Justice Studies

Frederick Rauscher

Associate Professor

501 SKH

Early Modern Philosophy
Ethics
German Idealism 
Kant
Political Philosophy

James E. Roper

Associate Professor

510 SKH

Philosophy of Science
Social & Political Philosophy
Business Ethics 

Lisa H. Schwartzman

Associate Professor

517 SKH

Ethics
Feminist Philosophy
Social & Political Philosophy

Daniel P. Steel

Associate Professor

507 SKH

Philosophy of Science
Logic                                 Philosophy of Environmental Science

Paul B. Thompson

Professor

526 SKH

Agricultural Ethics
Environmental Philosophy
Philosophy of Technology 
Continental Philosophy

Tom Tomlinson

Professor

C223 E FEE

Ethics 
Philosophy & Ethics of Health Care

Sean Valles

Assistant Professor

E35 EHLM

Philosophy of Medicine
Philosophy of Biology

Kyle Powys Whyte

Assistant Professor

535 SKH

Environmental Justice
Philosophy of Technology
American Indian Philosophy

Affiliated Faculty

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

Kevin Elliot

Associate Professsor 31West Holmes kce@msu.edu
Philosophy of Science
Environmental Ethics
Research Ethics
Philosophy of Environmental Science

Matt Ferkany

Assistant Professor

332 Erickson

ferkany@msu.edu
Ethics
Environmental Ethics
Moral Education
Ann Mongoven

Assistant Professor

C221 E.Fee

Public Health Ethics         Health Care Justice  Democratic Deliberation on Bioethical Issues

Robert T. Pennock

Professor

W-35 Holmes

pennock5@msu.edu

Philosophy of Science
Philosophy of Biology
Cognitive Science
Science & Ethics

Benjamin Pollock

Associate Professor

C727 Wells

Modern Jewish Philosophy
Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Continental Thought
Philosophy of Religion
Gretel A. Van Wieren Assistant Professor

 C736 Wells

vanwie12@msu.edu
Environmental Ethics
Religion and Nature
Ecological Restoration
Children and Nature
Food Ethics

Post-doctoral Fellow

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

Chad Gonnerman   503 SKH cgonnerm@msu.edu
Philosophy of Cognitive Science and Psychology
Philosophy of Mind

 

 

Visiting Faculty

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

Sandra Harding

Distinguished Affiliate Professor

 

sharding@gseis.ucla.edu

Feminist Theory   
Postcolonial Theory Epistemology         
Philosophy of Science
Research Methodology

Emily Katz

Visiting Professor

520 SKH

ekatz@msu.edu Ancient Philosophy

Instructors

Name

Title

Office

Email

Research Area

James Lambert

Instructor

506 SKH

Social & Political Philosophy

Michael Reno

Instructor

529 SKH

Social & Political Philosophy

         

Office Staff

Name

Email

Office

Joy Franks            Administrative Assistant

franksj@msu.edu

504A SKH OFC # 355-4492 Fax # 432-1320

Patricia Miller            Graduate Secretary

sudorows@msu.edu

503 SKH OFC # 355-4490 Fax # 432-1320

Julie Eckinger

jeckinger@msu.edu

CARRS 131 Natural Resources OFC # 432-0317 Fax # 353-8994

Emeriti

Name

Email

Judith Andre andre@msu.edu
Peter Asquith asquith@msu.edu

Al Cafagna

cafagna@msu.edu

Marilyn Frye

fryem@msu.edu

 

   

Richard Hall

hallrj@msu.edu

Joseph Hanna

hanna@msu.edu

Donald Koch

koch@msu.edu

Rhoda Kotzin

kotzin@msu.edu

Charles McCracken

mccrack2@msu.edu

Bruce Miller

 

Ronald Suter

suteron@msu.edu

Hal Walsh

 

Barbara Abbott

 abbottb@msu.edu

Martin Benjamin

benjamin@msu.edu